Navigating Australia’s Visa Maze: Choosing Between 491, 190, or 189

Are you considering a move to the Land Down Under but feeling overwhelmed by the myriad of visa options available?

Don’t fret!

At Get Your Visa we understand that choosing the right visa is crucial for a successful relocation.

In this guide, we’ll walk you through the differences between three popular visa subclasses – 491, 190, and 189 and, most importantly, helping you make an informed decision tailored to your unique circumstances and aspirations.


|1. Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa

The Subclass 491 visa is designed for skilled workers who are nominated by a state or territory government or sponsored by an eligible relative to live and work in designated regional areas of Australia.

This visa allows you to stay for up to five years and provides a pathway to permanent residency through the Subclass 191 visa.

To be eligible, you must meet specific criteria:

  • having an occupation listed on the relevant skilled occupation list,
  • obtaining a positive skills assessment
  • scoring a minimum number of points on the immigration points test.


|2. Subclass 190 Skilled Nominated Visa

The Subclass 190 visa is a state-nominated visa that allows skilled workers to live and work in Australia permanently.

To qualify, you must be nominated by an Australian state or territory government based on your skills, qualifications, and contribution to the local economy.

Above all, this visa subclass offers a faster pathway to permanent residency compared to the Subclass 189 visa.

State sponsorship provides additional points towards your immigration points test score.


|3. Subclass 189 Skilled Independent Visa

The Subclass 189 visa is a points-tested visa that does not require sponsorship by an employer, state, or family member.

This visa is suitable for skilled workers who meet the eligibility criteria and have the necessary skills and experience to contribute to the Australian economy.

Moreover,with the Subclass 189 visa, you have the freedom to live and work anywhere in Australia indefinitely, providing you with flexibility and autonomy in your migration journey.


|4. Key Differences and Considerations

  • Nomination Requirement: While the Subclass 491 and 190 visas require nomination by a state or territory government, the Subclass 189 visa is independent of any sponsorship.
  • Points Test: Each visa subclass has its own points test criteria, which consider factors such as age, English language proficiency, work experience, and qualifications. Ensure you meet the minimum point requirement for your chosen visa subclass.
  • Regional Obligations: The Subclass 491 visa comes with regional residency obligations, requiring you to live and work in designated regional areas for a specified period. This can influence your choice if you prefer to settle in metropolitan areas.


In conclusion, choosing between the Subclass 491, 190, or 189 visa is a significant decision. This will shape your migration journey to Australia.

By understanding the differences in requirements, conditions, and pathways to permanent residency, you can select the visa subclass that aligns with your goals and aspirations.

In adition, for personalized guidance and expert assistance in navigating the visa application process, trust Get Your Visa to help you realize your Australian dream.

Contact us today to begin your journey towards a brighter future Down Under!


If you would like to book a consultation with one of our agents, just call us on (08) 6117 4152 or write us at [email protected] or click on this following like to book your appointment . We will assess your circumstances, qualifications and experience to design the best option for you and your future!

Recent Posts