Have you heard about DAMA? 

DAMA stands for Designated Area Migration Agreement and it is a formal agreement between the Australian Government and a regional, state or territory authority.
It allows employers, in designated areas (remote) to sponsor skilled and semi-skilled overseas workers for position they are unable to fill with local workers
Let’s take a look to the details

|Details of DAMA

Individual DAMA labour agreements are between the Australian Government and endorsed employers/businesses operating within the relevant designated region.
 are generally in effect for five years (a review will be conducted after this period of time), and
 use the subclass 482 Temporary Skills Shortage (TSS), subclass 494,
Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional), and subclass 186 Employer Nominated Scheme (ENS) visa programs. This means that individual workers cannot apply themselves to the DAMA since it is an employer-sponsored visa program.

|Why is the DAMA important?

The first thing to say is that, in the DAMA lists we can find many occupations that may not be included in the State/Territory Skilled list, this is because the Government is giving an opportunity to remote areas to develop and grow so they need workforce (“less skilled”) they cannot find in the local workers. This gives the access to a series of occupations available to apply for ex waiter. 
Another positive element that distinguishes the DAMA list is that some concessions may also apply depending on the occupation such as:
– English concession 
– Salary 
– Age
Depending on the list (not all the DAMA lists for each states are the same), the applicant could be waived the condition of the minimum level of Englis, the minimum salary and also the maximum age for the Permanent Residency (generally 45 years old )


|Current DAMA available

There are currently 12 DAMA in place.
 Adelaide City Technology and Innovation Advancement, SA: Skilled & Business Migration
 East Kimberley, WA: East Kimberley Chamber of Commerce and Industry​
 Far North Queensland, QLD: Cairns Chamber of Commerce
 Goulburn Valley, VIC: Goulburn Valley
 Great South Coast, VIC: Warrnambool City Council​
 Northern Territory, NT: Northern Territory Designated Area Migration Agreement
 Orana, NSW: Regional Development Australia – Orana, NSW
 Pilbara, WA: Town of Port Hedland 
 South Australia Regional, SA: Skilled & Business Migration
 South West, WA: Shire of Dardanup
 The Goldfields, WA: City of Kalgoorlie Boulder​​​​​
 Townsville, QLD: Townsville Enterprise Limited​



To get in touch with Get Your Visa to know more about the process of these visa ,  just call us on (08) 6117 4152 or write us at [email protected] or click on this following like to book your appointment https://www.getyourvisa.com.au/book-a-consultation/ and we will assess your circumstances, qualifications and experience to design the best option for you and your future!

Recent Posts